Mall Fit Out in Dubai: Who Really Approves Your Shop, Stage by Stage

Why the mall operator controls your fit out more than any government office, with the stages, published deposit examples and the costs owners rarely hear about.

A mall fit out in Dubai is controlled mainly by the mall operator, not by a government office. In Dubai Municipality’s area, units inside malls are exempt from the DM decoration permit, so the operator’s manual, drawing reviews, inspections and consent to trade set your programme. Expect staged design approval, a fit-out deposit, insurance, hoarding, limited working hours and a late-opening risk under your lease.

In short:

  • Current manuals for the major malls are issued under lease and are not public. Ask for yours before you sign.
  • Deposits, hours and review periods vary by landlord, so never budget from another mall’s numbers.
  • Budget for nominated hoarding, re-inspection charges and second design reviews, which owners rarely hear about.
  • Plan the programme backwards from the opening date in your lease.

Why the mall operator is the real gate

Under DM Administrative Resolution No. 85 of 2019, decoration works in a unit of any size inside a commercial complex or mall need no DM permit or completion certificate. You still need a DM-approved contractor, works kept inside the unit’s boundaries, Civil Defence compliance and the owner’s written consent, and DM can still audit the unit. DDA Circular 338 gives a similar exemption for mall units in DDA zones, unless you make structural changes, change the use, add a mezzanine or merge or split units.

That does not make the process lighter. It moves the control to the operator, who decides access, inspections and when you may open. A landlord’s list can also ask for more than the law does, so check your landlord’s current requirements rather than assuming the exemption settles it. Other zones, such as Trakhees and DIFC, have their own rules: see fit out permit in Dubai.

The mall fit out process in Dubai, stage by stage

Stages differ between operators. This sequence is drawn from the published documents below and from how retail fit outs normally run.

StageWhat happensWhat usually goes wrong
1. Lease and manualYou receive the tenant manual, design criteria and the fit-out datesSigning before reading the services allocation and late-opening clause
2. Concept designLayout, shopfront idea, materials and sign concept go to the design teamA shopfront designed before reading the criteria
3. Detailed design and MEPScaled plans, ceilings, elevations, finishes, loads and fire drawingsLoads above the unit’s allocation, missing fire-rating certificates
4. Approvals and permitsFinal design approval, Civil Defence, DEWA and any activity approvalsStarting site work while files are still open
5. Before site workContractor appointment, insurance, deposit, work permit, method statement and risk assessmentCertificates that do not name the project or the right amounts
6. Hoarding and worksHoarding goes up, then works within permitted hoursDeliveries and lift access not planned, night hours underestimated
7. InspectionsMEP checks before ceilings close, tests and pre-opening inspectionClosing a ceiling without sign-off
8. Close-out and consent to tradeSnags fixed, documents submitted, permission to openAs-builts and test certificates left to the last day

What published manuals actually require

We could not find a current public manual for Dubai Mall, Mall of the Emirates, City Centre malls or Ibn Battuta. These documents are the best public examples, and they are not your mall’s rules. The Emaar document is an unofficial copy of a 2015 edition, so treat it as history rather than a current rule.

ItemEmaar Malls manual, 2015 (unofficial copy)JLT retail handbook, currentDubai South manual, 2017
DepositAED 35,000 undated security chequeAmount “as advised”AED 50,000 up to 1,000 m², AED 100,000 up to 5,000 m², AED 150,000 above
InsuranceCAR policy of AED 3,000,000 plus public liabilityPublic liability AED 5,000,000 or as per lease, all-risk, workmen’s compensationCAR and public liability of at least 125% of works cost
ContractorPre-approved contractors for civil and MEP worksMust meet DMCC requirements and submit licences and insuranceRegistered contractors, AED 2,000 new and AED 1,000 annual
Design reviewStaged online: concept, preliminary, MEP, finalUp to 10 working days for a complete submissionNot stated in this form
Working hoursNot published, confirmed with the coordinator07:00 to 19:00, Monday to Friday, unless approvedNight permit after 18:00. Noisy work outside 08:00 to 16:00
Failed inspectionsAED 3,000 per failed visit after the firstNot statedNot stated

The spread is the point: AED 35,000 in one document and AED 150,000 in another. The only safe figure is the one in your own lease and manual.

Costs you may not see in the fit out quote

  • Nominated hoarding. The 2015 Emaar manual required the landlord’s nominated contractor, paid by the tenant, and a fire-rated temporary hoarding behind it. Community retail in JLT requires branded hoarding with approved artwork.
  • Nominated suppliers. The same Emaar manual required a nominated pest control provider for the whole fit out.
  • Review fees. DMCC’s 2020 retail guidelines charge for further reviews if a design changes after approval.
  • Re-inspections. Each failed inspection can cost money and time.
  • Third-party testing. Some landlords require AC balancing by an approved company.
  • Night-work labour. Productive hours are shorter than the shift, so ask whether the quote assumes it.

For the construction budget itself, see shop fit out cost in Dubai.

Shopfront and sign rules you should expect

Criteria change by mall, but these published examples show the kind of limits to design for:

  • Glazing: at least 70% glass to 30% solid in both the 2015 Emaar manual and DMCC’s 2020 guidelines.
  • Lighting: DMCC asks for colour rendering of at least CRI 85 in the shop and CRI 90 in display windows.
  • Screens and tills: the 2015 Emaar manual set screens and POS back from the lease line.
  • Signs: size limits, and an Arabic sign beside the English one. Dubai’s sign law applies as well, as we explain in how to fit out a shop in Dubai.

Late opening: the risk that catches new tenants

The 2015 Emaar manual charged a late-opening penalty if a tenant missed the opening date in the lease, and time spent on landlord variation works did not reduce it. The fit-out period was set in the lease and included stocking and merchandising. We found no published amount or standard length, so ask three things before you sign:

  • How long is the fit-out period, and what starts the clock?
  • What is the penalty for opening late?
  • Does the period extend if the landlord’s design review runs long?

Then build your programme backwards from that date. Allow for at least one design resubmission, because most delays start there. Your contractor should be comfortable with this: see how to check a retail shop contractor.

Night work in malls

Noisy work in a trading mall is usually limited to overnight hours, and contractors report that access and service lifts are often the real constraint. We found no official citywide rule for this: your operator sets it. If you are refitting a store that is already trading, read shop renovation without closing, because in a mall a full refit usually means hoarding across the shopfront.

Frequently asked questions

Who approves a shop fit out in a Dubai mall?

The mall operator approves the design and controls the site, inspections and opening. Civil Defence requirements still apply. In DM’s area and in DDA zones, mall units are exempt from the decoration or fit-out permit unless you make structural changes, add a mezzanine, change the use or merge units.

How much is the fit-out deposit in a Dubai mall?

It is set by each landlord and written in your manual or lease. Published documents show AED 35,000 in a 2015 mall manual and AED 50,000 to AED 150,000 by area in a 2017 business park manual. It is often given as an undated cheque and released after completion and close-out.

How long does mall design approval take?

Mall review periods are not published. A figure of two to four weeks per round circulates among contractors, and JLT’s community retail handbook allows up to 10 working days for a complete submission. Ask your operator how many rounds to expect, and allow for at least one resubmission.

Can I work during the day in a mall?

Quiet work behind hoarding is often allowed, but noisy, dusty or smelly work is usually restricted in trading hours and moved overnight. Hours vary with the operator, location and events, so confirm them with the landlord’s coordinator.

What do I need before a mall lets me open?

Typically a closed snag list, Civil Defence and DEWA documents, test and commissioning reports, as-built drawings and the operator’s final consent to trade, plus your trade licence. Your manual gives the exact list.

Checked in November 2026. Published manuals are examples only: your own lease and tenant manual decide. Figures from the 2015 Emaar edition come from an unofficial copy and may have changed.

Taking a unit in a Dubai mall?

Send us the manual and the unit plan before you sign. We will read the criteria, flag the risks to your opening date and quote the design and fit out together. See our retail fit out service or book a consultation.

Keep reading

More from the journal

All articles →